Crafty Friends

Daily Prompt: Craft

When I look at who my friends are, I am often surprised. The women I spend the most time with are between the ages of 20 and 40. I am almost 69.  I never even noticed that my friends were so much younger than me, or at least that so many of them were, until recently. I’m not sure what changed, but I’m glad it did.

 

grays-rock
Me, Lucy, Jasmine and Alisha hiking Grays Mountain

I am a personal trainer at a local gym and, well not to brag but it does make me darn proud, there aren’t many women my age who can keep up with me.  Even though I don’t seek out young women to work out with, we seem to find each other.

 

Working out together is in some ways an intimate experience. We help each other with our form, which means looking at each other’s physical strengths and weaknesses. We know what makes each other sweat, laugh, and cry. Forty year’s difference in age doesn’t seem like much; fitness is a great equalizer.

Last night I had three of my young workout partners over for dinner. I wasn’t paying much attention to their conversation as I was clearing the table, but I heard them talking about someone who had made such a positive difference in their lives, inspired them to go college, and was proof that obstacles were just challenges in disguise. “Who are ya’ll talking about?” They started laughing, almost hysterically. “What’s so funny?”

 

portabello

 

“We’re talking about you!”

“You guys are embarrassing me.”

That’s when I saw it clearly for the first time. I could be mother or grandmother to these women, but instead they are my best friends. When they started telling me the ways I had inspired them, it was my turn to laugh.

 

img_3355465
Jasmine, Alisha and me working at Bucklin Park

Yes, I inspire them, but they do the same for me–and they motivate me. They keep me focused on giving my best in a workout, they are interested in my life and never me old—well not much!  They respect my education, my fitness, and what they call “wisdom.” I call it survival strategies. If I didn’t work in a gym, I can’t imagine how our lives would have ever crossed. I love my job, and like many of you, feel it is my craft. These young women have been my inspiration to refine my craft, continue to improve, and learn. Because of them, I am the top trainer in our club. They have helped me better at almost everything I do. Because of them, I really feel that I have turned my job into a craft and look forward to going to work everyday.

 

8 thoughts on “Crafty Friends”

  1. I absolutely love this JB❤️ I’m so glad you finally posted your writing since it’s been awhile and I enjoyed every bit of it! You’re my inspiration and motivation as well and the best grandmother/mentor/friend any brown girl could ask for❤️😊

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you for reading and especially for noticing my absence. Your comments are what make me feel so good about hanging with “my girls” as I call them. I also appreciate that you noticed I’ve been MIA. I look forward to catching up with yours and other blogging friends’ three months of missed posts. See you around.

      Like

    1. Sometimes it’s such a hoot, like when I mentioned that one of my first jobs was a linotype operator! Blank stares. When they use urban slang, I need a translation. Too much fun. Thank you for noticing I was MIA. I just quit writing? Why, no clue. I’m looking forward to catching up with three months of posts from all my friends.

      Like

Comment

Mick E Talbot Poems

haiku tanka senryu hiabun, all manner of poetry.

ARMY OF THE FALLEN BIKERS

Motorcycle Lifestyle

Life After Fifty

Randomly generated unrealistic illusions and fantasies.

LIGHT&SHADOWS

Photos, Flowers, Chitchat, and Simple Joys, mine or otherwise

Stay Strong, Daily Warrior!

You are braver than what you believe.

MS Poetry

Inspired by life, death, and everything inbetween

Leaking Ink

The musings left behind by my mind...

juantetcts

The Courage To Shift is my Life Coach business that focuses on moving the client from victim, to VICTOR, regardless of their personal goals! Is there anything in life that you would like more of?

Romelle J.

"Life in the Key of Me"

dellartista

Where Life Is real.